Othello in Belgium

The Belgian Othello Association in an active mind sports organisation that has been engaged for several years to promote Othello. This mind sports has the motto "A minute to learn, lifetime to master". We have been promoting our game by organising tournaments that we try to make accessible for all levels of play. We have been trying to popularise Othello by being present on several social media. If we get the opportunity, we do not hesitate to visit conventions to show Othello to a wider public.

In Belgian we have about 50 active players. There are 7 tournamenst a year, spread across Belgium. Generally there is one tournament in the French part of Belgium, the other tournament are in Flandres (e.g. Ghent, Antwerp, Zonhoven). We are organising at least one tournament a year especially for less experienced and new players. Every two year we have the opportunity to organise a major European tournament of which the last 5 were organised in Ghent.

There are currently no active clubs in Belgium. Everything is organised centrally. Of course it is possible to meet and play outside tournaments, but this is not happening systematically.

Every year a Belgian Championship is organised. 2018 was be the 35th edition. Via this Belgian Championship and the Belgian Grand Prix players can qualify for the World Othello Championship. In 2017 Belgium hosted the World Othello Championship for the third time (after editions in 1981 and 2009). In 2019 the World Othello Championship will be held in Hong Kong

The federation is selling orginal Japanese boards in our web shop. One of our yearly activities is a stand on the convention "Made in Asia".

There is an extended photo archive. Aside of that we are publishing a monthly newsletter in Dutch, but other languages could be added in the future.

Feel free to visit our  Facebook page. We are also active on Twitter.

Othello en Belgique

La Fédération Belge d'Othello (Belgian Othello Association) est une organisation active qui s'investit à l'Othello, un jeu de réflexion dont la devise est "Facile à apprendre, difficile à maîtriser". Nous promouvons Othello par l'organisation de tournois accessibles aussi bien aux joueurs expérimentés qu'aux débutants. Nous essayons aussi de contribuer à la diffusion de notre jeu de stratégie et de réflexion par notre présence sur les réseaux sociaux. Si la possibilité se présente, nous tiendrons avec plaisir un stand pour lancer des invitations.

En Belgique, il y a près de 50 joueurs actifs. 7 tournois sont organisés chaque année, éparpillés en Belgique. Les dernières années, nous avions un tournoi en Wallonie, à Anvers, à Zonhoven, ainsi que trois éditions à Gand. Et au moins une fois par année, nous organisons un tournoi B pour débutants. Et une fois tous les deux ans, il y a un tournoi international. Les cinq dernières éditions étaient à Gand. C’était le cas en 2015 et de nouveau en 2017.

Pour le moment, il n'y a pas de clubs actifs en Belgique. Tout est organisé au point de vue national. Bien sûr, il y a toujours une possibilité de réunir du monde mais ce n’est pas systématique.

Chaque année, il y a un Championnat Belge. En 2018 la 35ième édition! Par le biais de ce championnat et du Grand Prix Belge, la Belgique peut envoyer quatre joueurs au Championnat du Monde qui aurait lieu en Hong Kong en 2019.

La fédération vend des jeux japonais authentiques à notre shop. Une de nos activités annuelles est le salon Made In Asia.

Nous avons beaucoup de photos disponibles. En néerlandais nous avons un bulletin d'infos et nous souhaitons en faire un en français (example).

Visitez sans hésitation notre page Facebook. Nous sommes aussi actifs sur Twitter.